Pinterest Auto Follow


If there is one thing that really grinds my gears it’s automated anything in Social Media. I was recently surprised by a somewhat recent release from Pinterest. It popped up after signing in asking me to click on a few things that interested me. Pinterest then proceeded to make me auto follow over 50 people. Excuse me Pinterest… but I have been a member of the site since your release and know who I want to follow. That is what really grinds my gears.

If you see this page pop up and don’t want to auto follow numerous pointless accounts here is what you do:

  1. The URL will read pinterest.com/join/discover/
  2. There is no option to skip this step….making it seem as if you have to select 5 interesting pins
  3. Simply delete the join/discover in the URL and it will take you to your home page

What are your thoughts on this new feature? Are you as annoyed as I am or do you love it?

About MeganSWage

I am an animal loving, cooking & baking fanatic yoga addict. If you are looking for DIY ideas, recipes, yoga inspiration and everything in between, you are in the right place.

4 responses »

  1. Thanks for this post. I was completely irritated by discovering that I was “auto-following” so many Pinterest boards.

    Reply
    • Yes it was very deceiving. They make you think you HAVE to do that part of selecting interest and don’t tell you they will auto follow tons of people when you do. Glad my post helped 🙂

      Reply
  2. How can I undo the ” auto-following”?

    Reply
    • The only “auto follow” Pinterest will do is when you log in it might take you directly to a page with the URL: pinterest.com/join/discover/. It will ask you to select things that interest you and there is no skip button. Once you select these you will auto follow tons of people. In order to skip this step simply delete the join/discover from the url and press enter. You will be directed to your normal feed. If you have already gone through this step and auto followed people sadly the only thing you can do is go through your list and unfollow all those people. Thanks for asking. Hope this helped!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

